Shake and Bake

As I posted earlier, I decided to face my irrational fear of bread and make the famous New York Times no-knead bread recipe.  The only change I made was to add an additional 1/4 tsp of salt, and to substitute one cup of regular flour for whole wheat flour.  It was a hit! (though, I could go for more salt next time — if it doesn’t screw with the chemsitry.  I think the timing for me has to be a friday night start to the process, and then a late lunch on Saturday to appreciate the bread.

 

after initially mixing the ingredients

after initially mixing the ingredientsAnd after 14 hrs of rising, reshaping, 2 more hours of rising, an hour of cooking. Easy peazy?

So, that covers the “bake.”  Now for the “shake” — as in, shaking in my boots.  I think I may go into labor very very soon (hours? days?)– and I’m not due for another 3 weeks.  Don’t have a bag packed. The diaper delivery service isn’t scheduled to start for another week.  I’m mentally not ready, and have no idea what I need to get me ready.  I hope I’m just having a mental moment, and I have more time to get ready.

3 Comments

  1. Gretchen said,

    November 24, 2008 at 6:04 am

    OMG!!!!!!!! Congrats on the bread and deep breath! You’ll be perfect. Get that bag packed and everything will work out. Thinking about you!

  2. Theresa said,

    November 24, 2008 at 11:40 am

    Oh boy! First off, great job on the bread! I will have to try it at some point. Secondly, OMG!!! Very exciting! As Gret said, you’ll get that bag packed and be just fine. Sending good thoughts!!

  3. almostima said,

    November 24, 2008 at 3:33 pm

    Thanks Gretchen and Theresa! I came home and got started on the bag! Now that I’m on leave I’ll have more time to tackle the to do list. First step: make a to do list.


Leave a Reply

