Rain + Laziness + Giant Belly = Making My Own Pitas

Our pre-set dinner plan last night was to eat pitas with a ground beef sumac (arabic spice) mixture, veggies and hummus.  However, I’m pretty picky about my pitas.  I find most grocery store brands have the texture of cardboard and the flavor is not much better.  There’s one store near my parents that has good pitas (frozen) that remind me of the authentic pitas of my childhood. 

However, pregnancy brain hit in and I totally forgot to pick up the pitas earlier this week when I was by that store (about 25 minutes away).  It was raining yesterday, and I couldn’t justify driving 25 minutes for a bag of pitas no matter how pregnant I am.  So, fresh off my confidence of the bread baking last week, I decided to try my hand at making my own.  I used this recipe and here are the picks.  We were thrilled with the results.  We may use this recipe for making mini pizzas, too.  This was a lot less fuss than 20 hrs of letting bread rise.

I hope everyone out there has a happy Thanksgiving.  This is the meal my family and I look forward to most every year.  Here’s hoping my little sis’ (at 40 weeks now) doesn’t go into labor with a half-cooked bird in the oven.

Leave a Reply

