Becoming Miss Fix It

As much of a domestic goddess that I imagine myself to be in the kitchen, I have no delusions about my domestic skills in other departments.  Namely, I don’t think I’ve sewn on a button in 10 years, I’ve never hemmed pants, and I generally don’t “fix” things.  

So, it was an especially proud moment for me this week where I made a point to walk to the store, buy Krazy Glue for the purpose of fixing two items.  The first item is a nob that broke off our kitchen mixer.  Let’s face it, it’s an expensive mixer, and it’s not like I even know how to buy a replacement nob.  The second item, a lot less important, was a hair clip that I liked which snapped in two.  In the past, I wouldn’t have thought twice about tossing the hair clip and moving on to the next one.

Now, the only reason I could follow through on the Miss Fix It instinct is because I had the infrastructure (glue) and it was a simple task – clean breaks in both cases, and am going stir crazy in the house waiting for labor.  For the other sewing stuff, the investment in infrastructure (sewing machine) is expensive and takes up space, and it requires learning a skill — how to sew.  We don’t teach this stuff anymore because it’s easier to throw things away, or take pants to a dry cleaner to get hemmed.  And if a button falls off … well, we leave the garment on the hanger indefinitely or till some elfs show up and secretly fix it in the middle of the night (i.e., never to be worn again).

I think that this is something I should have a better grip on as I start this family, but don’t really know where to start.  I suppose I should start with the trench coat I bought last year whose button fell off on the first day I wore it.  This may be tomorrow’s activity if the baby refuses to make an appearance.  (seriously, he’s already 3 days overdue)

3 Comments

  1. Theresa said,

    December 18, 2008 at 5:49 am

    Ha ha!! I am also not a Miss Fix It. Over the summer, a button fell off my favorite cardigan sweater. And, Rob had a hole in the pocket of his favorite dress pants. He wanted to take the stuff to the dry cleaners and get them to fix it. I INSISTED that I try to do it myself – how hard could sewing a button be? And a pocket? No one would even see if it was messy. Well, four months later, I still haven’t been able to successfully thread a needle, and I ended up taking both items to the dry cleaners last weekend.

    I feel like my inadequacy in this area is made up in other areas – like hooking up electronic equipment and baking.

  2. Gretchen said,

    December 18, 2008 at 6:31 am

    I distinctly remember making a gym bag in home ec class in middle school. I was much better in wood shop class. I think we all have our strengths and weaknesses! Oh, and never underestimate the power of that iron-on hemming tape – we all know how to use irons, right? 🙂

  3. Theresa said,

    December 18, 2008 at 11:07 am

    Um I tried to use the iron on tape once. It didn’t work for me. I know, pretty sad. I’ve just faced the fact that I will never be a crafty person.


Leave a Reply

