Feeling Human through Cooking

I recognize the importance of taking things easy after having major surgery.  Let’s face it, the last thing I want is to do something stupid and end up back in the hospital with a bunch of nurses (not to mention my family) lecturing me about taking too much stuff on.  But I’ve always known that cooking has a relaxing effect on me and today I feel like I’ve turned a psychological corner by cooking some simple meals.

Breakfast:

A few days ago my mom had brought over parts of a honey-baked ham that they ordered for Christmas day, so we had leftovers from that.  The honebaked ham store is 2 blocks away, but I’m assuming the meat comes from much farther away — likely not local.  We had eggs (local – Glaum) with pesto jack cheese (local – Spring Hill ) and bread (local farmer’s market but has no label and can’t remember name of vendor) and strawberry jam (local – Happy Girl Kitchen Co.)  Sounds like breakfast, but after being up all night, it was actually lunch. 🙂

Dinner:

Mom brought over leftover pasta.  I supplemented with a homemade sauce made from polish sausage (local – Dibrova from Lodi), grape tomatoes (organic, not local), red onion (farmer’s market), dehydrated mushrooms that I rehydrated (no idea), green onion (organic, not local), parsley (organic, don’t know origin), parmesan cheese (not local or organic).

The food, simple fare, but it made me feel like my old self and for that it was utterly delicious.  (and bonus points for working down the leftovers in the fridge — always a weak point for me)

2 Comments

  1. Gretchen said,

    December 30, 2008 at 11:47 am

    Yum, yum, yum. I think cooking (especially when you have good healthy ingredients) is very relaxing and will definitely make you feel in charge and in control. You’re awesome!

  2. January 6, 2009 at 10:09 pm

    […] jumps back in with a breakfast of leftover ham, eggs with pesto jack cheese and bread with jam. After that was […]


Leave a Reply

