Stepping Into Your Partner’s Shoes

Let’s start off by admitting that I think I’m very spoiled.  Over the last few years, my husband has taken on the bulk of responsibilities in terms of keeping the house in order.  He generally does all of the cleaning and much of the errand running, while I do the cooking.  But whereas I really like cooking, no one really likes cleaning — at least, I don’t think he does.  But he’s been doing it (without complaint) because I tended to work long hours and I think his threshold for clutter is lower than mine.  Then with the pregnancy, it was a universal license to get the pampering treatment from my groom and, twist my arm, I was more than willing to let him.  The treatment continues as I recover from my surgery.

However, looking at things objectively over the past few days, I realize that it’s incumbent on me to take on my fair share to keep the house together.  Afterall, he’s being a wonderfully hands on father and he will be working while I will be staying at home for 5 months. 

I urge him to take breaks to rest while I try to pick up a bit in the manner that he would be doing.  It really makes me appreciate all that he does.  Though I’ve always made a point of expressing this appreciation for him, that sentiment has so much more meaning as I walk in his shoes and we strive for a more equal partnership in running our home and raising our family. 

Now, let’s see if I can manage to do it without complaining.

3 Comments

  1. Theresa said,

    December 31, 2008 at 8:20 am

    While I haven’t experienced the parenthood thing yet with Rob, nothing feels better than to truly feel like partners…and I hope that all the practice we’ve had with that over the last several years will serve us well when the time comes! 🙂 You’re doing such a good job!! Much love and good wishes for the new year!

  2. Mommy, Esq. said,

    December 31, 2008 at 1:56 pm

    Um, my husband is terrible about cleaning/picking up. I worry quite a bit what our house will look like when I go back to work. Isn’t your husband an actor? Does he have a more flexible schedule? That would be good for you and Max!

  3. almostima said,

    December 31, 2008 at 4:20 pm

    Yup. In addition to being a professional actor he’s now got his teaching credential. He’s been subbing this semester but starting next semester he is teaching theater in grades 1-6. That’s allowed us flexibility so far, but we’ll be more regimented come 2009.


Leave a Reply

