Stocking Up for the New Year

We were in the hospital for the big Christmas meal with my husband’s family.  Every year that we are there we make off with the turkey carcass for an amazing turkey stock/soup.    Why should this year be any different?  Mother-in-law made sure to stash it away for us.

For all the people who think they have no time to cook: check this out.  With a baby less than a week old and still recovering from major abdominal surgery, and with less than ideal equipment, I was able to whip this together.  It’s a wonderful concept if you know you’ll be stuck at home all day, and the smell is just heavenly!

First, the bird once weighed about 20 lbs, so it was a rather large carcass.  I don’t have a giant stock pot because I don’t have room for it.  My solution was to use two of my big pots and break off pieces off the carcass to have two stocks going at the same time.  I threw in a bunch of stuff like celery I froze before it went bad, carrots, red onion, parsley stems, some leftover roasted parsnips and turnips from an earlier meal in the weak, thyme, garlic still in the peal, green onions before they were about to go bad.  Essent ially, I cleaned out my veggie drawer and leftovers. 

I started it with a boil for 15 minutes and then simmered it for 6 or 7 hours (wasn’t really counting) while I was hanging out at home.  For dinner that night I chopped up pieces of ham my mom brought over a few days earlier, picked out some turkey pieces from the soup, fresh carrots, fresh onion, and fresh potatoes.  Cooked that in the strained stock till the potatoes were tender (15 min) and served.  I have a ton of leftover stock that I put in the freezer.  I think I’ll use it for rissotto this week.

1 Comment

  1. Gretchen said,

    January 2, 2009 at 3:53 am

    You are fabulous – and so resourceful – very inspiring. I think my veggie drawer may need a clean-out too. And I never thought about freezing celery.


Leave a Reply

