Product Review – Nursing Pads

I’ve been trying to be mindful in all these new baby-related purchases.  Some have worked out pretty well, some, not so much.   I’ve already mentioned that the cloth diapers are working alright.  The tip: make sure to get plenty of diaper covers because they’ll get some collateral damage.  We started with 4 (actually 8, but he was too big for 4 of them when he made his first appearance).  We’ve since bumped it up to 10.

Now I’d like to bitch about nursing pads.  I had no idea what they were before I got pregnant.  Explanation for the uninitiated: when you are breastfeeding, it’s not like an on/off faucet that shuts off when you are done expressing milk.  It will continue dripping, so you need the nursing pad  in your nursing bra to capture the drip.  So, I thought I’d try these bamboo cloth nursing pads rather than the disposable pads.  HATE HATE HATE the cloth pads.  They don’t work well at all and they were expensive!  You need something to draw the moisture away from your skin.  The Johnson & Johnson ones work well. 

I refuse to feel guilty.  I tried.

6 Comments

  1. Mommy, Esq. said,

    January 4, 2009 at 5:05 am

    I use the cloth ones that can be washed – some are scratchy but I think the Medala ones are soft all over (and bigger which is good for me). But if you don’t let your nipples dry before you put on the bra/pads the pads stick to them. Ugh. One thing I should mention is that I do wonder if the reusable pads might have contributed to the thrush Ned and I have that hasn’t gone away. I BF Penny in the middle of the night and she gets some breastmilk during the day but she hasn’t gotten it.

    P.S. After a couple of months you only need them if you’ve missed a feeding or first thing in AM when you haven’t fed him much during the night or in my case on the side you don’t feed on (at first) because I tend to make enough for 1.5 babies so there can be some leaking on the side that isn’t eaten first.

  2. Gretchen said,

    January 4, 2009 at 5:40 am

    I think all you can do is try to be eco-conscious but ultimately make a decision that meets your lifestyle and comfort level. I give you super props for the cloth diaper thing!

  3. almostima said,

    January 4, 2009 at 9:21 am

    I don’t think the ones I have are medala. It’s good to hear that this isn’t a permanent thing. But how are you supposed to let nipples dry if they keep dripping? Do they stop if you don’t do anything?
    I think wet pads next to skin can definitely impact thrush — the bacteria is looking for warm dark wet places and it’s gotta be a breeding ground.

  4. jerseygirl77 said,

    January 4, 2009 at 6:18 pm

    They will stop leaking if you give them a minute. Try just using the pad or a burp cloth to press in gently on your nip/areola. This is also a good trick if you have one of those random let-downs in between feedings. As Mommy Esq. said, it does get better with time.

  5. almostima said,

    January 4, 2009 at 7:02 pm

    Thanks, chicas! I’ll try that.

  6. Mommy, Esq. said,

    January 5, 2009 at 5:09 am

    I also stick a burp cloth under the breast not in use – absorbs the leaking and usually stops before I use that breast (if at all). Means both my boobs are exposed but otherwise I tended to leak on a kid and have to change his/her outfit.


Leave a Reply

