Colorful Cooking

Last night I made stirfry.  I just love how vibrant the colors are! Chard, carrots, onion, broccoli I added to the veggies in this pic some bacon, 2/3 of a pound of cooked shrimp, and one egg.  For seasoning, soy sauce and toasted sesame oil to finish.  I thought I was making enough for a small army, but J. and I ate all but a small portion.

For the first time I used brown rice in the stirfry.  I found the key is to use a 2:1 ration of water to rice in the rice cooker (regardless of what the instructions say).

Veggies = farmer’s market

Shrimp = farmer’s market from H&H fish vendor.  If you follow that link, you’ll see a cute baby picture!  I was pregnant during the same time that his wife was pregnant, and he would give me advice about which fish to buy.

Bacon = Mill Valley address.

Rice = Lundberg Farm, local and organic.

Egg = Farmer’s market.

img_2408

3 Comments

  1. Theresa said,

    January 8, 2009 at 3:40 pm

    what are the greens on the left of the cutting board? They look incredible! We had stir fry on Tuesday…I need to start adding an egg.

  2. almostima said,

    January 8, 2009 at 4:58 pm

    The greens on the left are simply three leaves of chard. I could have added another egg to this recipe. The trick is to crack it into the mix at the end and then keep mixing, rather than to fry up and cut up an egg separately. The ingredients are hot enough to fry up the egg and evenly incorporate it.

  3. Gretchen said,

    January 9, 2009 at 8:56 am

    Looks yummy. I love a good stirfry – love that you can throw things in and somehow it all tastes good regardless of specific ingredients, quantity, etc. I’ve not tried mixing the egg in – I always just create a well within the ingredients and cook the egg a little first before mixing. Hmmm…


Leave a Reply

