A new challenge

Today is my first day taking care of Max on my own. It’s pretty daunting … particularly when he’s only sleeping for 10 minutes at a time. I need to figure out a regimine of meals that I can cook one handed.

Today I made broccoli cheese soup. I had chicken stock going from last night. I boiled 2 broccoli heads that were chopped up (then went to pick up and change Max who was crying). Then I chopped 3 green onions in a cube of reserved turkey fat I had saved in the fridge in an ice cube tray. Made a rue with flour. Added chicken stock (maybe 3 cups). Grated about a cup and a half of cottswald cheese. (not local, but so much better than cheddar!) Added brocolli to onion/stock mixture. Blended with hand blender. Add the cheese in. Nutmeg. Tobasco. (pick up max again) Garnish with cheese, onion, sourcream, salt & pepper to taste. Tend to max who was crying — 10 minutes later have soup.
Write post. Max crying again. Gotta go.

2 Comments

  1. Gretchen said,

    January 13, 2009 at 3:46 am

    Oh, the juggling! You’re so impressive making a soup from scratch. I would be opening a can at this point – good job (and sounds delish!!!).

  2. Theresa said,

    January 14, 2009 at 6:42 am

    You’re SuperMom!!


Leave a Reply

