When Life Gives You Grapefruits…

Both J. and I dislike grapefruits.  However, mother in law kindly brought over 4 grapefruits that came from J.’s grandfather’s neighbor’s tree.  I decided to try to find a food use for them and this is the recipe that piqued my interest: Grilled Shrimp with Grapefruit BBQ Sauce.  I stumbled upon it only after I went to the farmer’s market, so I didn’t pick up any shrimp.  Instead, J. had the idea to adapt the recipe to the flat iron steak we bought from the meat vendor.  Genius.  I think this recipe would also work nicely with eggplant (for our veggie lovin’ friends out there). 

J. made this dinner and it was fabulous.  He omitted the liquid smoke, which he calls a chemical scam.  Then he cooked up the chard in the remainder of the sauce/marinade.   Rice, chard, meat, main ingredient in the marinade — all local.

img_2436Then we gave Max his first bath at home. (Yes, it took just under 3 weeks for the cord to fall off)  After an initial protest, he was way into it.

img_2451

2 Comments

  1. Gretchen said,

    January 13, 2009 at 3:47 am

    I’m not a big raw grapefruit person either so thanks for the tip – I might have to try the eggplant suggestion. And go Max! In your bath! So cute.

  2. jerseygirl77 said,

    January 14, 2009 at 1:12 pm

    I adore grapefruit, which makes me slightly wacky, I know. But don’t forget if you put the rinds down your disposal it will take care of any yucky smells in the drain/disposal. 🙂


Leave a Reply

