White House Organic Garden

My firm just announced major layoffs.  I am not on the chopping block this time around, but it really brings it close to home — we live in different  times and frugality needs to return as an American value.

While I still have no means to create my own food garden, I am glad to contribute my tax dollars towards improved food security and emphasis on growing the local foodshed.  One such project would return a victory garden to the White House.  Yes, in WWII, the White House grew its own produce, and I’d like to see it happen again. Oh, and excess food will go to local shelters who very much need it.

That’s why I signed this petition and hope you do, too!

5 Comments

  1. Mommy, Esq. said,

    January 22, 2009 at 2:13 pm

    I worry all the time about layoffs. I think I’m safe but you never know. I’ll have to read up on Above The Law.

  2. Gretchen said,

    January 23, 2009 at 3:57 am

    Sorry to hear about the layoffs. We had some yesterday without much warning. Very scary. I’m all about a victory garden – seems silly to not use all that great WH lawn for a garden anyway!

  3. Theresa said,

    January 23, 2009 at 5:31 am

    And Rob’s company had serious layoffs/restructuring yesterday as well. It seems like this has been a tough week everywhere- even Microsoft had a major lay off this week. I definitely feel so lucky that Rob and I are both employed…and I agree that a return to frugality is sorely needed. It’s hard sometimes…

    Also, I did not realize this, but apparently the White House chef has been using organic and seasonal ingredients throughout the GWB adminstration and it was never publicized. Hmph. I am all for a victory garden at the White House.

  4. jerseygirl77 said,

    January 23, 2009 at 2:43 pm

    Does someone want to grow a garden on my deck for me? The plant kingdom and I have a strained relationship at best.

  5. almostima said,

    January 23, 2009 at 6:58 pm

    Hm. If I had a deck I would consider getting something like the Earth Box. I saw it in action in an organization I volunteered with — they were giving them away to families in East Palo Alto so they would have access to fresh produce in a city that hasn’t had a grocery store in 20 years (so, it seems less like infomercial gimick to me).


Leave a Reply

