THIS close to chucking the credit cards

Over the last 12 months, I’ve had no less than 6 occasions where one of my credit cards has informed me that it was changing my account info because someone hacked into some merchant’s system.  This results in the nightmare of having to track down every merchant that I have on automatic payment on the various cards and dealing with transfering it over.  This is totally rediculous!  If these companies can’t figure out how to work securely, they shouldn’t be in business.  It’s bad enough that they are likely responsible for our financial crisis in this country, but now they are screwing with my finances and it’s a repeated pain in the ass.

I’m considering going with a system of envelopes and automatic payments straight from the bank and only using one credit card for big purchases.   It will also likely have the added effect of having me spend less.

1 Comment

  1. Gretchen said,

    January 29, 2009 at 4:02 am

    Wow. That seems like that happens a little too often. Your new system sounds great. I always read that spending cash is the best thing. I try to do that (take out so much to cover groceries and incidentals) but sometimes it doesn’t always work. I do have auto payments from my checking account and while it doesn’t get you points, etc. from the card use, it is quick and easy. Good luck!


Leave a Reply

