Easy Shrimp and Random Thoughts

Above is an easy go to meal.  Shrimp, butter, cracked pepper, good salt and worcestershire sauce under the broiler with plenty of fresh bread to dip into the buttery sauce.  It’s a great meal to make when you are tired because it takes 5 minutes.

So, I’m running on my 3rd day with very little sleep and no naps.  I’d like to crash now but have to kill some time till my next scheduled pumping.  Did I mention that I hate the pump?

Here’s one of the random thoughts that I’ve been thinking of in the midst of these layoffs and turbulent times.  What would you do if you couldn’t work at your current job and you had to do a job that was not dependent on foreign manufacturing/industry?  Mine would have something to do with food.  Maybe organic street food?

Tonight we gave Max formula during the 8:30pm feeding — let’s see if this knocks him out for a substantial time period, because I really need uninterupted sleep.  If  I pump at 10:30, aand go 5 hours, that means (quick math) I can sleep till 3:30am.  And if J. takes that shift, I can sleep even longer!   oh, living the dream.  Wait, no, need to pump at 3:30 no matter what J. does. Drat. Yawn.

img_2578_2

4 Comments

  1. Theresa said,

    February 13, 2009 at 5:36 am

    You pose a great question! The romantic side of me would absolutely open some sort of cafe/bakeshop and write on the side. The practical side of me would be a teacher.

  2. Mommy, Esq. said,

    February 13, 2009 at 6:10 am

    This engorgement thing totally sucks for you. I only got up in the middle of the night to pump to have milk for them but I know you want to phase out the pumping (and it was a total waste for me since all that stuff I froze I had to toss). Have you tried to skip one one in the middle of the night (3:30 am) but instead just use cabbage leaves? (Go to sleep with them in your bra tanktop.) You may wake up a bunch during the night since you aren’t used to it but after 2 days you should be able to drop that session entirely – you’ll just have to pump a little earlier in the AM. Also, make sure you are only pumping for about 5 mins (or 10 max) – I used to pump for 20 mins but I was trying to keep my supply up and not to phase out. Once he’s on all formula it will be easier – I’m so surprised to nice it is not to feel like I have to rush home to feed a kid or to pump (or worry when I need to pump).

  3. Mommy, Esq. said,

    February 13, 2009 at 6:10 am

    P.S. I’m totally trying this recipe.

  4. almostima said,

    February 13, 2009 at 8:04 am

    Last time I tried to skip the night pump as a way to wean I got severe mastitis. So, I’m going super slow by extending my time between pumping to every 5 hours. I’m extending this by 15 minute increments every few days. I’m at about 10 minutes per pumping, but I may try to reduce it if I can. I live in fear of the next mastitis episode, because that would set me back to square one with pumping every 3 hours.


Leave a Reply

