In Memory of Yael

I got some very sad news yesterday.  A woman who I had been friends with since the 3rd grade died on Tuesday from a very aggressive cancer.  I hadn’t seen her in a couple of years.   You know how it is, busy schedules, laziness on my part to reach out to people I hadn’t hung out with in a long time.  I didn’t even know she was sick.

I keep having memories pop into my head and I want to get to the point of appreciating the positive times we spent together … but right now I’m just too sad.  Maybe if I write them down I can move through some of this grief.

She had the most infectious laugh and a movie star smile.   We were cheerleaders together on the squad from hell.  We worked on the editorial board of the school newspaper.  We went to Hebrew scouts and sang on the bus together during camping trips.  The first slumber party where I was awake all night was at her house.  We double dated to the winter formal sophomore year.   She nicknamed me “e-money” one year for reasons I’m still unclear on, and the name stuck — she almost always called me that from then on.  We met for lunch at Union Station after college when she was briefly in D.C..  I saw her at the 10 year high school reunion and was so proud of her of becoming a doctor.  The last contact I made with her was in December when I saw her facebook picture of her recent wedding day.  I told her she looked beautiful and wished her mazal tov.  At least I got to say that.

I will miss you, Yael, and I’m sorry I didn’t keep in better touch with you.  You were a good friend and a great person.

5 Comments

  1. Mommy, Esq. said,

    March 5, 2009 at 9:25 am

    How sad. This is one reason I really like Facebook – a good way to connect.

  2. Gretchen said,

    March 5, 2009 at 10:36 am

    I’m so sorry.

  3. Theresa said,

    March 5, 2009 at 10:46 am

    Oh, this is so sad…reminder for us all, I think.

  4. jerseygirl77 said,

    March 5, 2009 at 5:39 pm

    I’m so sorry for your loss.

  5. Julie Donahue Chapin said,

    March 5, 2009 at 10:13 pm

    It is so sad when someone so full of life and promise passes young. She was a bright spirit and will be missed. So sorry for your loss!


Leave a Reply

