Volunteering: Can this be done or am I crazy?

So, it’s probably been a year since I’ve volunteered for an organization.  First the excuse was that I was pregnant and sick in first trimester.  Then I had a trial that kept me busy through the second trimester.  Then I was too pregnant to move.  Now I have a baby that is under 3 months old.

But there’s this event I really want to do and I want to drag the whole family.  It’s an event where we forage fruit trees in a neighborhood and take the excess that owners can’t consume and give it to the hungry.  I really believe in this and want to put my elbow grease where my mouth is.  In the past, I used to be able to take J. and he would be  a good sport and come along.  I really liked doing these things together. 

But now, if we do this together it means strapping on a baby bjorn and a 13 pounder while doing physically demanding work.  (Not to mention all the supplies for feeding and taking  care of the baby during the project).  My thinking is, we should at least try to do it and if we wimp out after an hour, well, at least it’s an hour more than we would have done.

I’m hoping that writing this post will make me more likely to follow through with this.  If I manage to do it, I’ll be sure to take pictures.

2 Comments

  1. Theresa said,

    March 12, 2009 at 2:53 pm

    You go girl!

  2. Mommy, Esq. said,

    March 13, 2009 at 7:51 am

    I agree – plan as much as you can with supplies/other things to keep you and Max happy. And even if you only do 15 mins that is great! And have someone take your photo as a family so you can remember it.

    I tend to expect the worst and plan for it and usually things turn out better than expected, but not always.

    Good luck and blog about the results!


Leave a Reply

