Spring Has Sprung!

As part of my quest to get out of the house, I wanted to make today a field trip day since J. didn’t have to work today.  Initially, we were thinking of going to the Monterey Bay Aquarium.  I have never been that into aquariums; as a kid I found it kind of boring.  But, I thought it might be fun to introduce Max and see if he has a reaction.  We scrapped the plan, however, when I realized that admission is $30.  So, that’s $60 for the adults and Max doesn’t even know where he is.  It’s also an hour and a half away from where we live.  I could imagine us trekking out there, buying a ticket and then Max blowing up and turning around and going home.

So, instead we decided to go to Ardenwood Historic Farm.  While it’s only 20 minutes away, we learned that this is an event best saved for a weekend.  The place was deserted, but we did get to see baby lambs just born in the last 2 weeks.  img_3168Next month come the baby goats and something called “bunnypalooza”.  

Part of it was sad because parts of the farm really need some attention.  There were herb gardens that looked more like herb cemeteries, with weeds overgrowing most signs of what used to be behind the markers.  But I guess for the $2 admission, we’re not in a position to complain — but still, it would be nicer to see a place like that thrive.

We had fairly low expectations but we had fun together.

In other news, I’m thrilled to report that Michelle Obama broke ground today on a veggie and herb garden on the White House grounds.  This is the first such garden since Eleanor Roosevelt planted a victory garden during WWII.  I feel particularly proud because I advocated for this a few months ago.  Sure, this was likely in the works irrespective of my little blog post seen by 10 people — but I still feel like I was part of a movement that made it possible.

Did I mention that I love our new president and first lady?

1 Comment

  1. Gretchen said,

    March 23, 2009 at 5:36 am

    So glad you visited a local historic site – I’m a big advocate (obviously!). The lamb is super-cute – and I’m sure this is just the sort of place that will be very kid-friendly when Max gets to his running around part of life. Maybe they need a volunteer corps to help them with upkeep in the gardens?


Leave a Reply

