Eating on the Go

I knew today would be a busy day.  I go to a new parents support group on Mondays that goes from 11:30 – 1pm.  Then I had a chiropractic appointment 40 minutes away and needed to drop Max off with my folks before the appointment.  After that, I needed to pick up a few things to make dinner (beef enchilada casserole again), then pick up Max, head home & make dinner. 

So, in that schedule, where is there room for lunch?  For a split second I considered whether this is the day where fastfood is unavoidable?  I do have a not-so-secret weakness for Big Macs which I struggle with.  Is this my excuse to cave?  Another alternative I considered was a falafel wrap from down the street ($8).  I decided to pack a sandwich to eat after class, instead.

Sounds simple enough, right?  Well, my resolve was tested.  I thought we had pre-sliced salame but J. had used up the last of it on his lunch. (Go J. for being much better at packing a lunch that I ever was!)  We had a non-sliced salame, though.  But my internal voice started whining about not wanting to bother with slicing it and I even considered putting back the two slices of bread.  But no, I sucked it up, spent 20 seconds slicing the salame and after spreading some homemade mayo, we were in business with a sandwich which I enjoyed in the car.

img_3203 img_3205I even got to my chiro appointment 15 minutes early. I was tempted to reward myself for packing a lunch and being early by stopping at the starbucks near the office but I resisted.  Afterall, that would basically undo my savings and it’s not like this was some grand accomplishment.  I have no idea why I had that urge but I think this blogging experience will be more meaningful if I am honest about what I struggle  with including bad habits and slip ups.  So, today, no starbucks. Tomorrow, who knows?

4 Comments

  1. Gretchen said,

    March 24, 2009 at 6:23 am

    Good for you! I have that internal conversation with myself every morning as I am rushing out the door – much easier to eat lunch out than taking the trouble to pack it (I tell myself) but really, how much trouble is it to actually pack a lunch? Yea for honesty – much appreciated to know others are weak just like me 🙂

  2. Theresa said,

    March 24, 2009 at 7:21 am

    I wish I could give up Starbucks, that is seriously my biggest money waste. I tried once….it did not work out well. Your sandwich looks yummy.

    Gret, one thing that I do at dinnertime – have a Gladware ready so when you are portioning out your dinner, just portion out the next day’s lunch at the same time. I can only bring my lunch if I pack it up the night before – if I wait till the morning, it will never happen.

  3. Theresa said,

    March 25, 2009 at 9:13 am

    Update – I was too lazy to put together lunch last night and bought a burrito today. Ah well. It was a delicious slip up! I will make a chopped salad tonight to take with me tomorrow.

  4. almostima said,

    March 25, 2009 at 1:27 pm

    T – Tomorrow is another day. I’ll be rooting for you!


Leave a Reply

