Pump and Circumstance

I am done with the pump and I am filled with more hope and pride than I did on my graduation day!  (get it, cuz of the title — it’s funny when you have to explain your jokes.)

While I still have to get up in the middle of the night to take care of feedings  (usually once a night but sometimes two), I feel a lot more rested.  I no longer have to set an alarm for some random hour like 2:30 a.m., but can be woken up naturally by a screaming baby … the way God intended.

I also only have 1 bag of frozen breastmilk left in the fridge.  So, after tomorrow, Max will be 100% formula fed.  I had felt a little conflicted about that but then I read an article that rocked my world: The Case Against Breastfeeding.   I wish I had seen this before I ever gave birth and I’ve been sharing this link with every new mother in my new parents’ group who has been beating herself up for having problems breastfeeding. 

J. suggested to me that I might want to bury the pump in the desert.  That sounds cathartic, but also a lot of work.  I’m going to look into whether I can get it sterlized and then donate it to a shelter or hospital that might make more productive use out of it.

3 Comments

  1. Gretchen said,

    March 27, 2009 at 4:12 am

    Congratulations. You SOUND SO RELIEVED and that is such a good thing – makes me so happy for this decision you have made. Enjoy!

  2. Mommy, Esq. said,

    March 27, 2009 at 7:06 am

    I read that article and found it interesting. I liked the point about how BFing is only “Free” if you think a woman’s time is worth nothing. I often cried to myself about how the Firm was paying me to BF so I had to make it work, dammit. But really, you don’t have to – you just have to be happy for your kids. And I too felt much better rested and stronger when I stopped – BF/pumping takes a lot out of you. Congratulations on your “graduation”.

  3. jerseygirl77 said,

    March 28, 2009 at 6:25 pm

    I read that article too, but found her arguments shaky at best. [shrug] In any case, I am glad you are in a happy place with your decision!!!!


Leave a Reply

