How to Really Work a Sale

img_3190Like you all, I get a lot of email from organizations and stores.  Most of the time I delete them without reading them. 

Before the baby came, we signed up for a  parenting center because some of my friends with babies swore by it.  It’s a place where you can take parenting classes, buy all your baby gear, get references for lactation consultants, yoga, etc.  I don’t make it out to that center very often because I had a bad experience there with an overly pushy lactation consultant, combined with the fact that I found a better non-profit parenting center within walking distance. 

Earlier this week I got an email advertising 20% off at this store for member appreciation weekend.  Normally I would shrug this off.  However, I kept it in the back of my mind on the chance that I would need some baby things.  I knew that if I went there to peruse without a plan, I would buy a bunch of stuff that I didn’t absolutely need. 

Over the next few days, I took note of things that popped up that I needed and went to the store today.  Good news! I only got things on the list:  a pacifier, a clip to fasten the pacifier to Max, a wide brimmed hat to protect him from the sun, and a portable crib/play pen so that he can sleep at my folks’ house or in a hotel with us if we ever get to travel again.

Then it also occured to me that while I was reasonably well read for the newborn days, I hadn’t read a thing about what to do with the baby past 3 months.  So, I checked out a book from the lending library at that center.   This book covers the first year.  I already distrust the author because she’s preachy about breastfeeding and actually listed not breastfeeding as a risk of death for the baby (i.e. a risk factor for Sudden Infant Death Syndrome).    I’m not too mad, though, because I saved the $15 I would have paid had I actually bought the book. 

The flip side is that now I can’t use the book as fireplace kindling.  Just kidding, I don’t have a fireplace.

1 Comment

  1. Mommy, Esq. said,

    March 30, 2009 at 7:53 am

    I vote you read Healthy Sleep Habits, Healthy Children by Weissbluth. I started reading it when my kids were Max’s age and it Saved My Sanity. 🙂 Weissbluth does think it is okay to feed a kid in the middle of the night up until 9 months. That is BS (once Max is eating 25-30 oz per day you can do CIO, especially if he is eating solids) – clearly he wasn’t the one getting up in the middle of the night for 9 months. I do agree about trying to wean your kids off swing and into a crib. Lots of people swear by Ferber – not just the techniques but the reasoning behind it. As you mentioned in another post it is key to find a book that fits your personal philosphy (mine happened to be let them cry and not go in and check on them numerous times).

    You said you were taking a new mom class so the instructor could guide you for other good books.


Leave a Reply

