First Rule of Organization

I’ll admit it and my former roommates will second it, I am not an organized person.   It seems like there’s too much “stuff” for the space that I have.  I put together boxes of stuff to give to Goodwill, and they’ll sit in a corner of the apartment because I have a strange compulsion — like I’ll need the bright yellow pants I bought in Miami when I was stuck there for the night and the airline lost my luggage.

The first rule of organization is before you bring anything new into the house, an equivalent item has to go.  I can’t imagine doing this, but I need to get into the habit of giving stuff away before I am overrun with stuff like a compulsive horder. 

It’s particularly evident with baby stuff.  I only bought a few articles of clothing for him.  The rest is stuff that people gave me.  He outgrew a lot of it in 10 minutes.  J. suggested we give his old clothes away to a pregnant co-worker of his.  I resisted because we could have another son — and I have emotional memories of some of these items.  I think I need to shake myself out of this.  I’m a middle child and I don’t think I relished wearing hand-me-downs in my early days.  And if we got this many gifts now (without even having a shower), we’ll likely get stuff with the next kid. 

Afterall, the longer we can manage to live in this apartment without busting at the seems and moving somewhere bigger, the more money we’ll save.  Also, who needs to pay to move this stuff anyway?img_3279

2 Comments

  1. Gretchen said,

    April 5, 2009 at 7:18 am

    Oh how I wish I could be one of those kinds of people that lives a minimalist lifestyle…

  2. Mommy, Esq. said,

    April 7, 2009 at 8:23 am

    I gave all my stuff away to my sisters with the stipulation it be returned if we have another kid. You aren’t likely to have a kid at the exact same time of year anyway so it could be moot – just give it away or donate it with tax deduction.


Leave a Reply

