Taking Pride In Ownership

First: my Savings Challenge act of the last few days was using a coupon for pizza last night. Yes, we ordered pizza (for pick up) as a treat for a very long week. As a kid, we used to clip coupons for fast food all the time. Then, somewhere along the way we decided that it wasn’t worth our time to even bother. But you know, there’s something gratifying about finding a coupon for something you want anyway.

Now, on the subject of this post. It amazes me how quickly stuff breaks or looks old. We have a few white mugs that J. and I use to drink tea and coffee every morning. Soon enough the inside of those mugs (and accompanying spoons) look stained and yucky. They go through the dishwasher like everything else, but they look so dirty that I’m embarrased to show them to guests.

Well, I saw a bit on the Today show where they recommended using a solution of 1 part baking soda, 3 parts hot water, filling the mugs to the top, mixing it up, and letting it rest overnight. The next morning, the baking soda will form a crust on the edges. Using a scouring pad and some elbow grease to remove the crust will show off a brand new looking mug. Likewise for the spoon.

I was so proud of myself as I marched with mugs to J. to show off my handywork. I hope I will be as resourceful when we finally own a home. Fixing things — or better yet, taking care of them so that they stay looking new.

I’m this close to plastic covers on my couch, grandma style. (It would sure help with all of Max’s spit up). img_2706

That reminds me, I took 3 of my throw pillows to the dry cleaner to spiff them up. I’ve never done that before. They sure did come out clean, but are lumpy now and have kind of lost their shape. I think I’d want to re-apholster the couch once Max gets a little older.

3 Comments

  1. Mommy, Esq. said,

    April 11, 2009 at 1:27 pm

    Our couch took some beatings until we moved the kids and their feedings into the playroom. I like the idea about the coffee mugs – my problem is residue on the water glasses we got 6+ years ago for our wedding. I love them but they look so horrible I’m embarrassed to give them out. I can’t seem to find a solution though that will do the trick. They’ve started breaking too but maybe I’m just looking for an excuse…:)

    Believe it or not Max will stop spitting up so much soon. He is adorable – love the slightly plump upper arms.

  2. almostima said,

    April 11, 2009 at 6:19 pm

    I don’t know if you’ve already tried it, but what about white vinegar in your glasses overnight to see if they take care of the residue. The other option is denture tablets. I’ve used it on some stuff and it’s been very effectve. You can run a little experiment on a few of the glasses and see which method works better. 🙂

  3. Abby said,

    April 13, 2009 at 7:12 am

    That picture is hilarious! I love it!


Leave a Reply

