Back In the Saddle? Not so much.

During my pregnancy I loved loved loved my prenatal yoga class.  I was never  a yoga fan before, but I loved everything about the class.  We’d have 30 minutes of kvetch and complain time at the beginning where we share our aches and pains.  Then we’d have about 50 minutes of long, slow stretches that seemed to reach parts of my body I didn’t know I had.  Then 10 minutes of lying in the dark relaxing.   During that 90 minutes, I would be able to block out everything else in the world.  No worrying about work.  No running through to-do lists.  Just focusing on taking care of myself and the baby inside me.

Well, flash forward, I just went to my first yoga class post pregnancy.  Hate is probably too strong a word, but I’m definitely not a fan.  I dropped off Max in the day care upstairs — a first for me.  Made it into class a few minutes late — already a bad start. 

This class was all wrong for me.  Very few long slow stretches.   Mostly running drills through a series of moves, holding for 2 seconds at most, and thumping up and down on my knees for an hour.   Also, I couldn’t let go of the outside world.  I kept thinking about Max and wanted to get up there to take him home.  He missed his nap and was exhausted and there was too much stimulation in the day care to let him sleep.  So, I walked out before the relaxation time, because who was I kidding?  There would be no relaxing.

Did I mention it’s 95 degrees out?  Oy.

I wish there was a pre-natal type yoga for post-natal women.  As is, I’m not strong enough to do many of the ab-centered exercises of regular yoga.

I need to be cheered up.  Here’s a cute pic.img_3412

5 Comments

  1. Mommy, Esq. said,

    April 20, 2009 at 12:24 pm

    I hate Yoga with a passion. But reading your post makes me think I would like pre-natal yoga. He looks great! That’s the catch-22 about creating a nice quiet, dark nap environment – they can’t nap anywhere else. But I’ll take that for good quiet time for Mommy, Esq. on the weekends. Before we know it there will be only 1 nap and we will have plenty of fun time as a family “doing things”.

  2. jerseygirl77 said,

    April 20, 2009 at 6:28 pm

    Sounds like you went to the wrong “type” of yoga class. Probably a hatha or vinyasa class would be what you’re looking for. Your description sounded like “power” yoga, maybe ashtanga? I’m not a fan of that either. Give me the slow, relaxing classes any day! You might also look into “Itsy Bitsy Yoga” in your area. It’s a mommy n’ me type class. Hope you find something you like. 🙂

  3. almostima said,

    April 20, 2009 at 7:24 pm

    This was billed as “Vinyasa Flow” yoga, but they also have a power yoga class.
    Also, I tried the mommy & me yoga — thumbs down for us. I took Max to that when he was 10 weeks old. Besides the fact that it was more singing/playing than yoga, I have to play defense the whole time from other crawler babies who darted across the room to pounce on him. I don’t think I did one move right — and it was certainly not relaxing.

    I’ll keep my eye out for true vinyasa with a personal referral. 🙂

  4. T said,

    April 22, 2009 at 4:01 am

    My experience has been that anything with the word “flow” in it (unless it’s slow flow) is very advanced and frustrating for me. I always look for hatha, or there’s a new kind, I think called “dharma” yoga that I’ve been told is similar to prenatal. Both are supposed to focus on slow, relaxing stretching. Good luck!

  5. Holly Meyers said,

    March 19, 2010 at 10:10 am

    Thanks for sharing your positive and not-so experiences. As a yoga teacher, I pray you find the right match and continue your practice! Like others have suggested, there are more fitting alternatives for post-natal. First, be sure you are going to Level 1 classes (vs. “mixed” or “1/2”) – they tend to be slower paced and focus on individuals needs. Next, see if anyone in your area offers “Gentle,” “Restorative,” or “Baby and Me” practices. In addition, classic Hatha styles like Integral or Sivananda Yoga cultivate ease and a peaceful internal focus. If all else fails, go back to pre-natal classes – I attended them for a year just to enjoy the peacefulness! For now, you might avoid Vinyasa, Power, Hot or Bikram Yoga which are intended to build heat by a constant flow of motion or a heated room.


Leave a Reply

