First Solid Food, First Purple Asparagus

Last night, I felt adventurous, so we gave Max his first taste of solid food — a little rice cereal mixed in with formula.  He took it like a champ.  I can’t say that he loved it, but he didn’t cry or spit it out.  I say he’s reserving judgment.

img_3553

Meanwhile, for dinner J. and I had slow cooked short ribs in a homemade bbq whiskey sauce (made by J.) andpurple asparagus.  I’d never seen it before… but we were in a new market and I thought I’d give it a whirl.  Turns out, after cooking it just looks dark green.  I probably wouldn’t pay extra for it again.  But it was fun as a novelty.

img_3556

2 Comments

  1. Mommy, Esq. said,

    April 28, 2009 at 9:22 am

    Yeah, Max! My kids never liked rice cereal – not until we started mixing in a fruit or sweet vegetable. I think we did rice cereal for 3 days and then moved right to sweet potatoes. Do you have your baby food making supplies on hand (at first I forgot the word “food” and it made me giggle)? He’s getting so big – looks like a little man in his polo shirt.

  2. Theresa said,

    April 28, 2009 at 5:30 pm

    I was SO disappointed when I cooked purple asparagus and it didn’t end up staying purple! I felt like I got ripped off! 🙂 That happened with purple potatoes once too, but sometimes those do stay purple. I don’t understand it.


Leave a Reply

