Time to Eat My Words

I had posted a little while ago about how we avoided buying an exercise station for the baby and instead opted for a few small colorful toys.

Well, much to my chagrin.  Max wasn’t really taking to the toys.  In fact, he hasn’t been all that entertained by any of his toys.  I started to worry that maybe he’s going to have developmental problems.  Then, a friend of mine generously passed along her daughter’s exersaucer to me.  Max loves it.  He’s playing with all the little attachments and seems really happy there. Sigh of relief.

img_3570

We’ve paid forward some of the other toys and clothes that were given to us when Max was smaller.  It’s amazing how quickly they grow out of it.

This week’s project is to build his crib.  I’ve come to the conclusion that unlike the bassinet, the crib will not fit in our room.  This will make for a tough transition period for all of us.  Max will give me long stretches of sleep, but only if we take him into our bed at some point in the night.  But while Max has outgrown the bassinet, I don’t think he’s ready for sleep training.  He’s not a self soother yet and I think he needs another month or so.

Oh, and I think Dr. Weissbluth can suck it.  I know some people love him to pieces, but it doesn’t sit well with me when authors tell me I better do things their way or else I’m selfish and harming my child.  Also, when authors tell me to distance myself from friends or family who disagree with their ideology, the similarities to a cult are a bit too much for me.

4 Comments

  1. Theresa said,

    April 29, 2009 at 9:27 am

    The look on Max’s face in this photo is priceless! What a cutie! Obviously I have no opinions on all the other things you mentioned in your post, but I will say that I don’t see myself being one of those parents that consults books – precisely for those reasons that you mentioned. Either that, or I just really don’t like advice. Which is kind of true sometimes 🙂

  2. Gretchen said,

    April 29, 2009 at 10:13 am

    Yea for the exersaucer! Glad he’s lovin’ it. And trust your gut – I don’t think you’ll let it get to an unreasonable point where your 15 year old son is still sleeping with you. Good luck with the transition (and the crib building)!

  3. Mommy, Esq. said,

    April 29, 2009 at 11:56 am

    Funny, I don’t remember that about Dr. W’s book and I read it twice. I guess I took away more the “you have to be consistent” approach (which is probably why he suggests “distancing” so you don’t keep changing based on unsolicited assvice – like mine). The only thing I’m going to say about sleep training is that I really needed the kids to be on a schedule and sleeping through the night before I went back to work – more so I could know what they were up to during the day and I could have some time with Aaron and good recharge sleep for myself. My kids didn’t “play” with toys until they were about 6 months or a bit older so don’t worry but it is great he likes the exersaucer. Penny is apparently 2 months behind on gross motor skills but more to come on that. Give Max a big smooch!

  4. almostima said,

    April 29, 2009 at 5:00 pm

    Mommy, Esq., here’s one Dr. W. tidbit that had me fuming: “When you maintain a healthy nap schedule and your child sleeps well during the day, jealous friends will accuse you of being overprotective. They’ll say, “it’s not real life” or ‘Bring her along so she’ll learn to play with other children” or “you’re really spoiling her.” Suggestion: Change friends, or keep your baby’s long naps a family secret.” And it seemed that every other page he compared delaying nap or bed time to starving your child. PASS.

    I’m sure sleep training is somewhat easier when one is at the end of their rope. I’m just not there yet and furniture placement doesn’t seem like a good enough reason to make him suffer before he’s ready.

    I’m sure Penny will catch up before you know it. She’s so sweet! Eating going any better?


Leave a Reply

