Savings is Fundamental UPDATE

As much as I love the idea of used bookstores, in practice, I hate going in them.  I don’t like the smell and they are so packed in that I feel claustrophobic in them.  But the other day, I went inside a used bookstore down the street and picked up two Dr. Seuss books.  (Green Eggs & Ham and I Can Read With My Eyes Shut)

J. and I read them to Max.  It had been a long time since we did that as it was too difficult to keep him quiet/interested before.  But this time, he seemed to be really paying attention.  He sat still, watched our mouths, watched the colorful pages.  It was really fun!  Especially for me since I had never read those books before.  (I moved to this country a little later in life.)

Anyhoo, the tab for both books?  $7 and change.  Much cheaper than buying them new, and Max would never know the difference.

2 Comments

  1. Mommy, Esq. said,

    May 3, 2009 at 2:16 pm

    Garage sales are another good place for books. We bought a bunch at the MOT semi-annual sale last month. Marshalls also has cheap books if you have those in your area.

  2. Gretchen said,

    May 4, 2009 at 9:12 am

    Love Green Eggs, but my favorite Dr. Seuss was definitely One Fish, Two Fish. So glad story time is back for you!


Leave a Reply

