Ferber Baby. Day 1

My plan was to hold off on sleep training.  I said that he needed more time to self soothe.  But a few days ago, unceremoniously, I started to let him cry a little when I put him down for naps in his crib.  He cried for around 5 minutes.  I would pick him up for a minute to comfort him, then he’d fall asleep right away.  Well, that didn’t seem so bad, eh?

img_3596

For bed time, I was still doing the usual routine which is swaddling him, putting him in my sling, and then bouncing on an exercise ball with him with  blanked covering his eyes so that he’ll fall asleep.  Then he would go in his bassinet for a few hours if we were lucky, then he’d cry and come into bed with us for the rest of the night.

Last night I got dragged into sleep training kicking and screaming.  The usual routine wasn’t working.  So, I thought this was as good a time as any to let him cry in his crib hoping that he would be down within 5.  Well, he cried for a solid 35 minutes and then chilled out.  It was hard on me.  And if he would have gone on much longer I don’t know if I could have held out.  He woke up again about an hour later but calmed himself down.  He slept in his crib till 3am — much better than usual.

But this morning there were no hard feelings.img_3580  We’ll do it again tonight.

4 Comments

  1. Mommy, Esq. said,

    May 6, 2009 at 3:29 am

    Love the last photo! I know it is hard to listen to him cry but once you can start to enjoy long stretches of uninterrupted sleep it is so worth it. I also loved that Ned always seemed to forgive me each morning. 🙂 Watch out for teeth…he was up 5 times SCREAMING last night…and I felt two teeth this AM. Yikes! Maybe I shouldn’t have been so eager for them to come in.

  2. Gretchen said,

    May 6, 2009 at 4:35 am

    Such a cute picture – love his hoodie. Congrats on this step forward!

  3. Theresa said,

    May 6, 2009 at 9:51 am

    Another cutie picture! He has so much personality – he’s like, “Mommy, I am so OVER this cry it out thing!” Love it!

  4. jerseygirl77 said,

    May 10, 2009 at 5:01 pm

    Both of mine had to CIO or FIO to various degrees, and they seem to still love us. 😉 Good luck!


Leave a Reply

