Lemon Pudding Cake – That’s right. I said Cake.

I haven’t posted much on cooking lately.  The baby-ness has consumed the blog.  Sorry.  But I’m still cooking.  In fact, I have a turkey thigh slow cooking on hour number 6 that I’ll be serving on brown rice with some fresh salad greens.

I’m still getting much of my inspiration from cooking shows.  I can’t believe I was able to pull this dessert off.  It’s relatively easy and is based on really simple ingredients.  I didn’t have buttermilk but I found this easy solution.  Take a tablespoon of white vinegar (or lemon juice) and put it into a one cup measuring cup.  Then fill the rest of the cup with milk. Mix. Let stand for 5 minutes and now you have a buttermilk substitute.

img_3609

This was amazing as part of a candle-lit dessert and also good as a breakfast the next day (though not as great).

4 Comments

  1. Theresa said,

    May 7, 2009 at 4:15 am

    Yum yum yum! Maybe I’ll make this for Mother’s Day brunch…

  2. Gretchen said,

    May 7, 2009 at 6:42 pm

    Looks and sounds delish. I’d have to admit I’ve not done much with buttermilk myself.

  3. Theresa said,

    May 8, 2009 at 4:57 am

    The problem with buttermilk is after you use the amount you need for a recipe, what the heck do you do with the rest?? I ended up making lots of biscuits. Which is not really a bad thing, I guess!

  4. almostima said,

    May 8, 2009 at 9:59 am

    There’s also buttermilk pancakes, or buttermilk fried chicken, or buttermilk mashed potatoes (never tried that one, though).


Leave a Reply

