Next Solids: Sweet Potatoes

IMG_3719After the first day, Max was not diggin’ on the rice cereal.  He would just hold the spoonful in his mouth and not swallow it.

I thought I’d move on to something a little tastier.  We got him a sweet potato at the farmer’s market. I baked it in the oven for around 45 minutes, then milled it.  He’s been taking it for 3 days and doing ok with it.  Some of it is getting down.  But he is doing this gagging face (while not spitting it out) that makes me thing he doesn’t like the taste.  What’s not to like?  Maybe he takes after his dad who doesn’t like them either.

I’m thinking next food should be a fruit.  I’m resisting bananas because you have to get them really soft and mushy … and I only like them barely ripe.  Which means, we make a bite of food for Max and then have to throw away the rest.

I’m also trying to make food for him from scratch, so it has to be something that is in season that I can make — i.e., not a jar of applesauce.  Besides wanting to only give him wholesome ingredients without preservatives, it’s much much cheaper.

IMG_3717

3 Comments

  1. Theresa said,

    May 14, 2009 at 4:34 am

    Could you freeze some bananas (or banana pieces) and defrost as needed? Bananas get really mushy after being frozen. Maybe that would work.

  2. Mommy, Esq. said,

    May 14, 2009 at 6:31 am

    Also, you can use the bananas for banana bread. That’s what I do. I found my kids didn’t just like banana mashed with a fork – you’ll have to mill it. We also made our own green beans but they didn’t turn out that great from a consistency perspective. Avocado is really easy and my kids liked it with rice cereal. I’m trying to think what else but we quickly moved to Earth’s Best jars and they loved peas, prunes, etc. It was interesting to read labels – I found it cheaper than buying whole organic type fruits/veggies (although now on table food packages of organic frozen veggies and fruit are cheaper) than to buy a whole item and then waste half of it. We would use the jar over the course of 2 days (well, my kids would split it). They had no perservatives – just simple fruit but a better consistency than I could do it myself. Gerber Organics was also good (especially their prunes). We also introduced oatmeal about 3 weeks in because of constipation. Be careful of rice cereal + bananas = constipation. We used prunes to counter that effect. Also, rice cereal for “dinner” (we used to do it halfway between 3 pm and 6 pm bottles) helped Ned to sleep through the night. How did Ferberizing go? Jeez – I could clearly talk about food and sleep all day long.

  3. almostima said,

    May 14, 2009 at 7:31 am

    I think I’ll use what i need from a banana and freeze the rest for smoothies. I think the key to the cost issue is to find a way to use it without throwing half the food away. So, the sweet potato that doesn’t get used by Saturday will be going into breakfast pancakes.

    I’m intrigued by the avocado/rice cereal combo. Do you use any other liquids to blend the two? Do you use lemon or lime to keep the avocado from browning, or is that bad for the baby?

    On the Ferber front, we’re making progress. He cried for 30 minutes last night, but naps are going at about 5 minutes of crying.


Leave a Reply

