Cooking with No Food in the House

I was out and about running errands with Max today.  I didn’t have a plan for lunch and it seemed that we had no food in the house.  I almost wheeled the stroller into the sandwich shop down the street when I thought, maybe I can scrounge something together afterall.

Let’s see, what do we have?  Two ears of corn that I had my dad grill for me on the BBQ during mother’s day. I was going to put it in a fritatta a few nights ago and forgot all about them. What can I make from that?  I love corn chowder, maybe I can do that.  And with that, all these other ingredients came out of hiding from the fridge, freezer and cupboard.

There was the package of pancetta bits I keep in the freezer.  A white onion that needed to be used up before it turns pretty soon.  Dried thyme that I picked up for the lamb dry rub last night.  A half container of chicken stock I had from when I made slow cook turkey last week.  Rosemary from outside the building.  A clove of garlic in great shape.  The last of a small red potato bag.  The last 1/3 cup of milk in the container.  Cream that is a few days past its expiration, but still good.  Stale bread that perks right up in the oven.  A little flour to thicken the soup. Salt, pepper, nutmeg, tobasco.  Almost wilty parsley chopped up for garnish.

Amazing how all of these mostly reject-ish ingredients which would have turned into trash in a couple of days without this little bit of inspiration made a fantastic lunch for me.  I threw this together while I was putting Max down for a nap — running into his room every few minutes to calm him down.  Eventually he slept for 25 minutes. Ugh.

3 Comments

  1. Gretchen said,

    May 14, 2009 at 2:34 pm

    Very impressive! I can imagine you juggling balls in the air as you do all that 🙂

  2. Abby said,

    May 14, 2009 at 6:34 pm

    I am quite impressed with your cooking (and mothering) prowess!!

  3. Mommy, Esq. said,

    May 15, 2009 at 8:20 am

    Wow – although I did do quite a bit of baking while the kids were napping to deal with crying. I’m still impressed though – you are very creative.


Leave a Reply

