Savings is FUNdamental – Spicey Edition

I have a confession to make.  The hypocrisy of it all didn’t quite occur to me, but for all my railings against convenience cooking products…for years I’ve been using taco and fajita seasoning packets.  They were easy.  They were mindless, they gave my dishes the right combo of mexican flavors.

But no more!  I looked at the ingredients, and they aren’t recognizable.  I’ve also been shelling $2-$3 on each packet, and I make mexican food once a week.  Meanwhile, I have a cupboard full of spices that are going stale or unused, taking up valuable space.  I found this substitute online.  I happen to have every single one of these ingredients, which means I have no excuse.

It’s not a huge savings, but it’s something and I’ll get satisfaction from using up stuff that I already have.

1 Comment

  1. Gretchen said,

    May 15, 2009 at 2:25 am

    Very good idea! I’d just been loading my mexican dishes with cumin only, so it’s good to have an actual recipe that might approximate those lovely, salty mixes.


Leave a Reply

