Growing out of the Comfort Zone

It seems tht just when I get comfortable with all the equipment that comes with babyhood, Max outgrows this stage and needs to move on to the next.  He’s 1.5 inches away from outgrowing his car seat/stroller.  He’s probably getting too big for the swing. 

Today I need to start researching the massive new car seat and the next level up of stroller.  Eh. I’m not looking forward to having to muscle through this new clunky equipment.

He’s moving nicely through solid food.   Sweet potatoes were not a big hit, but he loved bananas and a banana avocado combo.  After we move through avocado I will try carrots with him. 

My solution to the leftover issue is to freeze portions into ice cube trays.  When possible, I avoid re-heating in the microwave because it kills any of the remaining nutrients in the food.

Some of the sources on baby food that I am looking at say that you should cook fruit before giving it to babies.  That seems like overkill.  My parents didn’t do that with me (but let’s not open that can of worms…).  Is anyone else out there cooking the fruit?

IMG_3746

3 Comments

  1. Mommy, Esq. said,

    May 21, 2009 at 9:44 am

    If you don’t have much by way of family allergies or asthma I think that you can start increasing how often you introduce new foods – we were up to one day after a couple of weeks and would often mix a new one with one they have had before. I don’t even keep taMost people I know do not cook the fruit but almost everyone I know who makes their own baby food buys the jarred fruit because it is a PITA (except bananas) – they don’t puree well unless you cook them first (and even then they are tough to get right). Big favorites for about a dozen babies I nkow of are apple sauce and prunes. My kids loved pears too. I thougth the microwave thing was only if you left it in the microwave too long? I usually would throw the cube into a plastic bag and throw it into the bucket where we were warming the bottles with hot tap water. I do the same thing with the jarred food that has been in the fridge.

    Don’t spend too much time fretting about car seats – just get the Britax Marathon that everyone with a decent size sedan does (we have the Boulevard). As for strollers decide if you want a jogger or not. Prices range far and wide and I’m sure you’ll be happy whatever you get. We tried the Bob out at REI before we bought it.

    Why do I always write so much – you didn’t ask for my advice! Or, assvice, as I call it.

  2. almostima said,

    May 21, 2009 at 3:57 pm

    MommyEsq., it’s not assvice…and I asked for it. 🙂 Is it tough to get the right consistency even with a baby food mill?

  3. jerseygirl77 said,

    May 22, 2009 at 8:08 am

    I cooked some of the fruits I made for the boys, but honestly we introduced solids so slowly that by the time they got to a lot of the fruits, they could handle a lot more texture, so mushing stuff up was just a better option. Fruits are more watery than vegetables too, I think, because those purees always came out more watery/separated, especially after defrosting the cubes.

    We actually did not join the Britax bandwagon. We had an Evenflo Triumph (which I would NOT recommend due to its width and heft) and now we have Sunshine Kids Radian 65s for both boys. The Radians have the advantage of being narrow, light, and foldable. This means that a) you can fit someone besides your kid in the back seat of your car and b) it’s super easy to transport or switch between cars. I believe it’s also less expensive than the Britaxes. It has a rear-facing limit of 35 lbs, which is the max any car seats have in the U.S. The forward facing limit is 65 lbs, and they also make the Radian 80, which has a FF limit of 80 lbs. HTH!


Leave a Reply

