Savings Is FUNdamental – No Room for Pride

The way I view the process of saving money is that not all expenditures are created equal.  Some things are worth it to me to spend more money on, and some things are not.  So, I save in one category so that I can spend (guilt free) in another.  I tend to not feel guilty about food purchases which  I will cook at home.   I’d happily spend the money on a good cut of meat, versus buy a ho-hum meal at a chain restaurant.

The parenting center that I belong to is a non-profit.  So, I didn’t feel guilty about participating in their fundraiser drive of selling coupon books.  But I’ve been burned by these before… you get it, use one coupon, then forget about it. Next time you find it, all the coupons are expired.  But this time, I viewed it as $25 money I was giving to charity, and anything I recoup on top of that from the coupons was a bonus.  However, this time there was a bigger bonus.  All the businesses in this book are local and green.  So, this has the advantage of informing me on what’s available in my area, giving me ideas of creative things to do, and offering discounts on businesses I already support.  (Though, it is embarrassing to use a coupon when the clerk announces to everyone else that you are using a coupon and he doesn’t know the code…)

I used the first coupon ($5 off $25 purchase) at my local grocery, which was easy to do.  The second coupon was for $10 off $30 and I used it at the local store where we buy our detergents, soaps and shampoos.  Well, I discovered late last night that when I packed up my item in my cloth bag, I left the bar of soap on the counter by accident.  Now I have to go back to the store, hope they remember me and the soap I left behind. Embarrassing.  Here’s hoping that local shopping and building community has the benefit of the vendors remembering you and cutting you a break.  And yes, I’m fighting for this because it represents half the savings I had yesterday, so it’s time to swallow some pride.

IMG_3745

  I was hoping to use one of these coupons on organic formula, but the grocery store was out. They usually sell this formula for $32.99.   This is roughly $10 more than non-organic formula from costco, but I justified the purchase under the “nothing’s too good for my baby” category.   Unfortunately, most mainstream stores don’t carry this organic brand.  I drove 25 minutes to babies r us, because they also sell the formula for $29.99.  I was planning on stocking up.  Well, babies r us was out, too.  Now this really pissed me off.  No wonder we are in a recession if these stores can’t figure out that there are yuppies like me who will pay a premium to have this food for our babies and we can’t afford to have the supply run out.  It’s not like this stuff expires quickly…they can keep it on the shelf for a year.

Well, the local stores just lost a customer.  I found out that I can order it online at amazon.com for $25.49 when I set up a recurring order and the shipping is free, to boot.  I had avoided shopping online for babyfood because deliveries in my building are a bit of  a pain in the ass and I didn’t want to risk running out of food.  But again, time to swallow my pride.

Update:  Even though the sales person who helped me yesterday wasn’t there today to verify my claim, the store still allowed me to pick  up a bar of soap.  Sweet!  I feel really good about asking.

2 Comments

  1. Mommy, Esq. said,

    May 21, 2009 at 3:07 pm

    I was wondering if you used organic formula. We didn’t but I know people who use Earth’s Best.

  2. Gretchen said,

    May 22, 2009 at 7:04 am

    I love that the coupon book was geared toward local and green. How great. I like your attitude about thinking of the cost as charity. While we’re trying to save money, I still think supporting local charities or businesses is sometimes worth the extra dollars you technically have to spend.


Leave a Reply

