Childproofing Marriage

I just got done watching  a very special Jon & Kate Plus 8 showcasing what appears to be the end of their marriage.  Depressing doesn’t begin to cover it.  I’ve also recently seen some good friends get divorced. 

All of this makes me think about how we take marriage for granted and how important it is to do something every day to make sure I honor the most important relationship in my life. 

For all the controversial “protect marriage” anti-gay rhetoric, we really do very little in this country to build strong straight marriages.  My marriage has nothing to do with whether a gay couple down the street gets recognized by the state.  It will succeed or fail strictly by our actions alone. (* sorry for the aside, California Supreme Court’s decision on Prop 8 is due tomorrow and I guess it’s on my mind)

For instance, I go back to work in less than two weeks.  It makes me appreciate everything J. does after work to give me a break.   From 5pm till bedtime, I have the luxury of vegging out and cooking (which I enjoy, so it’s not a chore) while he takes care of Max, cleans the kitchen and does the laundry.  I hope I can live up to his example and give him as good a back up when I get home from work.

Another thing that just occurred to me is that since Max was born, I have taken roughly 2000 pictures.  Tons of Max.  Tons of J. with Max.  Some of me with Max.  Grandparents with Max.  The cat has made quite a few photo appearances.   But I don’t think I have a single picture of just J. and I.  That ain’t right.  I think it’s that if neither one of us is holding Max, the chance that there’s another adult around with extra hands to take our picture (and that I remember to ask them to do that) is pretty low.  So, for now we’ll have to settle for an old pic.  But next date night will have a picture.

LW4N2508[1]

1 Comment

  1. Mommy, Esq. said,

    May 26, 2009 at 11:36 am

    Love the photo – I too was moved by the show.


Leave a Reply

