Saving is FUNdamental – Wardrobe

I had a minor breakdown last night staring at my closet. 

How do you go into battle without your armor?  How do you play the part without the costume?  How do you show up back at work after what people consider a 6-month vacation without a glowing complexion and a powersuit you feel good in?

I kept hoping the weight would come off.  I kept hoping that my bodyshape would reposition enough so I can at least cheat through the first few weeks at work.

I made a decision to not buy a “back to work” outfit, though I did buy a pair of shoes about a month ago.  The emotional pick-me-up of a new outfit appropriate for work could easily cost $100.  That’s a lot of money for an outfit I hope with every fiber of my being to not fit in a month.  So, instead of the instant gratification of shoping now, (which could have the adverse effect of keeping me at this size) I chose to re-dedicate myself to losing this freakin’ weight and then maybe buying something later.  However, I do hope that the experience of being able to “shop” in my own closet for clothes that have been out of reach for a year will do away with the need to buy something later, too, but we’ll jump off that bridge when we get there.

4 Comments

  1. Gretchen said,

    June 4, 2009 at 2:48 am

    Thinking about you!

  2. Mommy, Esq. said,

    June 4, 2009 at 7:07 am

    I wish you luck! I did buy clothes – more of a way to mentally prepare and feel good about myself.

  3. jerseygirl77 said,

    June 4, 2009 at 5:08 pm

    Hope it went well today!

  4. Abby said,

    June 5, 2009 at 5:21 pm

    ugh, i fully anticipate needing lots of new clothes before the return to work, since i am now a good THREE sizes bigger! At least it’s not four, like it was a few weeks ago. **SIGH** I’ve been eating two SlimFast meals a day all week, hoping to continue, and praying at least a few more lbs. come off before going back in July. And if not, I am just going to have to cut myself the slack. I hope.


Leave a Reply

