Organizing a Jam-Fest

I had this idea and I really hope I can make it come to fruition. 

Last winter my husband’s aunt gave us a few jars of frozen jam that she made.  We devoured it on pancakes.   This summer I am determined to learn from her and invite the women of his family together for a jam-fest.  I’m also considering making a giant batch of tomato sauce as my contribution.

This is the kind of thing that previous generations would do all the time as normal part of preserving the local harvest for the winter months.  I crave that community and really want to pick up this skill.  (That, and our Farmer’s Market jam vendor spiked his prices to $8 a jar …)

I’ll keep ya posted if I can make this happen!

2 Comments

  1. Theresa said,

    June 5, 2009 at 5:06 pm

    It’s always been a dream of mine to move to a cute little cabin in Vermont and make my own jam…random, I know. Good luck with your jam-making!

  2. Gretchen said,

    June 6, 2009 at 7:05 am

    Oh, I am so excited to hear about this – I may have to fly out there to participate!


Leave a Reply

