Wanted: Wheelbarrow of Tomatoes

I was testing out my recipe for making tomato sauce — hoping that I would be able to make  a large batch for family when we finally do our canning day (looking like July is  a possibility). 

Well, roadblock.  At the farmer’s market today I bought 2 lbs of extra ripe tomatoes which were on sale for $1.50/lb.  Now, I didn’t put any veggie or onion filler in it just yet, but all those tomatoes are not yielding a whole lot.  I cut them in half and roasted them for 40 minutes @ 350F  to concentrate the flavor, then I peeled them (really easy after roasting), then food processed, and then reduced in a sauce pot with dried basil, oregano, salt, pepper, garlic salt and onion salt.  It’s tasting pretty good, but it looks like it will make a quart tops, and it’s not all that cost effective.

Thus, I think the only people who make large supplies of sauce for preserving are those who grow their own tomatoes and had a bumper crop. (Or get a large supply from the CSA)

Tonight I’ll have most of the sauce on a store-bought pizza crust.  We’ll top it with roasted squash, zucchini, and eggplant from today’s market.  Then topped with pesto jack from last week’s market that we need to use up.

Other planned meals for the week:

  • beef soft tacos
  • seared ahi tuna with spinach salad
  • spinach fetuccini with fava bean/cilantro pesto
  • pork shoulder steak with cucumber tomato salad and little red potatoes.

These meals were picked because they require no prep time prior to when the munchkin goes to sleep and can be made in 30 minutes or less.

IMG_3781

2 Comments

  1. Gretchen said,

    June 8, 2009 at 3:01 am

    Oh how disappointing. Maybe you could talk to one of your favorite vendors about the project and see if they can save you cast-offs or something that would make it cheaper? Hmm… It was a great idea, though! Hope the sauce is yummy at least. The pizza sounds good – I may have to follow suit this evening.

  2. Abby said,

    June 8, 2009 at 7:42 am

    I must say I am seriously impressed. I’m feeling like I might never cook a meal again, at this point! Wish I lived closer so we could come over for dinner and the peanut and the munchkin could play!! 🙂 (Or, stare at each other!)


Leave a Reply

