Perspective on Wardrobe

On the eve of returning back to work, I posted in minor desperation about what I felt was a lack of a wardrobe to return to work.  Well, it’s two weeks later and I’ve managed to get by.  I dressed professionally every day without repeating an outfit or buying anything new.  And I don’t get the sense that I’m at the total end of options, either. 

This gives me valuable perspective.  We women often get that “I have nothing to wear” feeling, while our male counterparts can make it just fine on 3 pairs of slacks and 5 shirts.  I think my previous perspective came from a place of not feeling good about myself in what I had to wear.  These are my fat clothes.  These are not the clothes that would cause a co-worker to compliment me in the hallway.  But these clothes look just fine and if I had to meet a client in them, I wouldn’t be embarrased.  So, now, I choose to derive my self esteem from the fact that I was capable of sticking to my guns and using the stuff I already have without needlessly spending money that I need to be saving.

I gotta admit, it does feel pretty good.

On the flip side, no progress on the weight loss side.  Grr.  I’m starting to consider atkins, but I know that as soon as I stop it the weight will come back and be even harder to lose.

2 Comments

  1. Gretchen said,

    June 17, 2009 at 1:18 pm

    Congrats on not breaking down and buying clothes just to buy clothes. That should definitely give you some satisfaction.

    I hear you about the weight loss (and I didn’t have a baby!). Calories in; calories out. I’ve been trying to track my calories on dailyplate.com. For what it’s worth 🙂

  2. jerseygirl77 said,

    June 17, 2009 at 3:24 pm

    Good for you for resisting the temptation to buy new clothes! I don’t think I could have done it… I’d at least have bought a couple new items. Please, I beg you not to do Atkins. Cutting out entire food groups is not a healthy way to lose weight. South Beach is a little better. I’ve had 3 successful rounds of Weight Watchers- 2 of them postpartum- and I’m back to it again now. I have heard that TOPS (Taking Off Pounds Sensibly) is also a good program. Counting calories is a hassle, but it *works*, and as G noted, sites like dailyplate.com and fitday.com will make it easier. You can do it!!!


Leave a Reply

