Pump Up the Jam – Revisited

I made jam (or possibly a thick sauce) yesterday out of the apricots on my parents’ tree.  I had made a test batch about a week or so before, and it was mighty tasty.

I took the pits out of a bunch of apricots. (maybe 3 pounds? maybe more?).  I didn’t even bother taking the skin off, which is a huge time saver.  I added 1 cup of water. (next time i”ll do 1/2 cup).  Brought to a boil, then a soft boil for 20 minutes or so.  Use immersion blender till it’s all same consistency.  Then add 3 cups of sugar. and the juice from 1/2 a lemon. (around 2 tbsp).  I also put in the zest of the lemon.  I let it continue at a gentle boil till the mixture held its shape on a spoon.

For jarring, I sterilized wide mouth 1/2 pint jars.  I looove the new jar tongs!  MUCH safer than trying to use regular kitchen tongs.  Then I funneled the mixture into the containers, leaving 1/4 inch of space on top.  Then I covered with sterlized lids.  Then submerge the jars in water and boil for 10 minutes.  Let cool and give away to family members…because I don’t need 5 jars of apricot jam.

Next adventure: Plums!

1 Comment

  1. Gretchen said,

    June 29, 2009 at 2:18 am

    Good for you! Sounds (and looks) like a success!


Leave a Reply

