$1000 Weight Loss Challenge

If someone told you that they would give you $1000 if you lost 8 pounds in two weeks (with a promise to keep it off, so, no starvation short cut), you would probably think, I could do that!  

So, why is it, that when I look at my wardrobe, and my upcoming court appearances, and I consider buying a few new suits for my new size, do I not look at this as a $1000 challenge?  I mean, that’s pretty much what it would cost to get a few new suits.  If I lost the weight in the next couple of weeks, I wouldn’t need to buy the clothes, and I would keep that money in my pocket.  AND I’D FINALLY BE DONE WITH THE BABY WEIGHT!  What more motivation do I really need?

What kind of stuff would you commit to do for that $1000?  Gym every day?  More than once a day?  Super strict diet?  I mean, the whole “livin’ in moderation” ain’t working for me, so I feel like I need to kick it into gear somehow…but it’s really hard to motivate when it’s 90+ degrees out, and two steps outside the house feels so oppressive.  (whine whine whine)

I’m sure it also doesn’t help that dinner turned out to be much greasier than I planned.  I wanted to do fish tacos, but we had an impromptu, non-fish eating guest, so I changed it to ground beef soft tacos.  Then I found out we did not actually have tortillas, so I used an arabic style tortilla called “Malawach” which we had in the freezer, but it turned out to be really greasy and now I feel kinda gross.

And this after passing on free bagels and chips at work!

2 Comments

  1. jerseygirl77 said,

    July 15, 2009 at 5:12 pm

    One of the things I learned when studying to be a personal trainer is to help clients to set “SMART” goals. Specific, Measurable, Attainable, Realistic, Timely. Losing 8 lbs in 2 weeks is not a SMART goal, which sets you up for failure. Why isn’t it SMART? Well, it’s specific (losing weight to fit into your suits), it’s measurable (8 lbs), it’s realistic (8 lbs is not a huge amount of weight). But as for being attainable: Well, you haven’t decided on a plan of action, so as of yet, it’s not attainable. And timely: No, because a 2-week timeframe is much to short for healthy weightloss (1-2 lbs per week).

    So, set your goal at 6 weeks instead of 2, would be my first piece of assvice. My second piece of assvice would be to skip super-strict diets or visiting the gym twice a day. Instead: Keep a food journal and “if you bite it, you write it,” with an eye toward trimming unnecessary extras from your daily diet. Work out 45 minutes to 1 hour at moderate-to-high intensity, 5 days a week. Cardio 5x a week (20-60 minutes), strength training 2x a week (20-30 minutes). These are guidelines set out by the ACSM.

    At any rate, I still have 15+ lbs of baby weight to lose myself, so I’m the first to stand up with you and say weight loss sucks. It’s hard. It’s annoying. It’s frustrating. I still only have 2 pairs of pants that fit. But if I don’t keep going, I’ll never fit into anything else. You can do it mama! 🙂

  2. almostima said,

    July 15, 2009 at 6:25 pm

    5 days a week…. I’m doomed. I might as well go to Lawyers, Big and Tall now….


Leave a Reply

