Blackberry BBQ Sauce To Die For

First, my apologies.  We devoured dinner and forgot to take pictures until there was nothing but rib bones on the plate.

Inspired by what I saw at Blue Moon Organics last week, I decided to use up the leftover pint of blackberries we had by making a blackberry BBQ sauce.  It was fantastic on baby back ribs.

The only change I made to the recipe was cooking it on the stove top for just a few minutes on low heat rather than putting it in the microwave.  If you ask me, it didn’t really need any heating at all as we basted the ribs with it and put them under the broiler.

We ate the ribs alongside a nice heirloom tomato and cucumber salad.

We promised ourselves we’d repeat the meal this week so that I can take proper pictures.  See the sacrifices I make for you guys?

We took a 2 hour walk today.  Along the route there was a man selling cases of strawberries.  Since I could smell them from across the street, I had to get them.  We had two pints for dessert and I’ll use the remainder for jam.  The case was $10.  Normally we’d pay $7 for 1/3 of the size.  Sounds like a good excuse for strawberry jam to me.  I’ll be using Ina Garten’s recipe.  However, I think I’ll skip the liquor as I don’t have any at home and would rarely use it.

And weight progress… have dropped 3 pounds so far from my plateau.  Let’s hope I can keep it up!

1 Comment

  1. Gretchen said,

    July 21, 2009 at 3:00 am

    That all sounds fantastic. Congrats on keeping going on the weight loss. My patch is about to produce another round of strawberries, so thanks for the recipe link.


Leave a Reply

