A Rare Book Club Moment

I admit it.  I rarely read books.  It’s usually on vacation that I actually have enough relaxing time that I’m inspired to read.

Last weekend, J. and I had a quick escape to Ashland, Oregon for the Shakespeare Festival.  We left Max with my folks for two nights.  

This vacation was an opportunity to multi-task the little errands I wouldn’t have time for at home.  Getting a pedicure was definitely on that list. 🙂  So was two nights of fabulous sleep!  I also made my own face cream at a store called Alchemy.

Anyhoo, back to my point.  In a little shop, I picked up this great book called Farm City, by Novella Carpenter.  She’s an Oakland woman writing about her experience of turning the abandoned lot next to her apartment into an urban farming oasis, complete with honeybees, turkey, pig, chickens, and of course, fruits and veggies.  The writing is delightful and inspirational.  Someday…

Just saw that she has a blog!  Woo hoo…I’ll be following that.

Leave a Reply

