Sleeping on a Slice of Heaven

We left town again this weekend to go to a friend’s wedding in wine country.  Max stayed home with my folks and had fun kiddie-pool time, and even went to a petting zoo (wish I could have been there for that one).

As you may know, one of my favorite things about getting away is a night of uninterrupted sleep since Max does not sleep through the night.  Unfortunately, the jerks in the hotel room next to us who decided to have a 3am party didn’t get the memo.  I had to face the fact that I am old now when I called the front desk and asked that someone come up to break it up.

Sleeping on another bed only confirmed for me that our mattress sucks.  So, exhausted, we went yesterday to the mattress store.  I wondered aloud if going to the mattress store when you are tired was as bad an idea as going to the grocery store when you are hungry.  Will every bed feel inviting and amazing?  Eventually we settled on a pillow-top bed with some memory foam pillows.  The best part was that they had same day delivery.

We slept on a little slice of heaven last night, and Max slept till 5 or so!  I wonder if a few more weeks on this bed and maybe I’ll have the energy to do more, like work out!

3 Comments

  1. Mommy, Esq. said,

    August 18, 2009 at 4:47 am

    You are a stronger woman than I. I wasn’t even back to work and I had to do CIO with Ned at 5 months. Boys just don’t get it like girls do. With 1 exception all baby girls I know started sleeping through the night on their own and all boys had to be subject to CIO. I have no idea what that is. Good thing we love them so much.

  2. Gretchen said,

    August 18, 2009 at 1:39 pm

    Did you do a green mattress or no? I’m thinking about replacing mine and want to save up for a bamboo or some sort of green option, but not sure they’re really worth it…

  3. almostima said,

    August 18, 2009 at 2:39 pm

    Mommy Esq. — We do CIO upon initial bed time, but I haven’t done it in the middle of the night. We think it might be time to start, but haven’t taken that leap yet.

    Gretchen – Doh! It didn’t even occur to me that there was such a thing as a green mattress. Let me know how your search goes!


Leave a Reply

