A Big Thumbs Up for Novella

I finished reading Farm City: the Education of an Urban Farmer by Novella Carpenter.  LOVED IT!  I can’t say it made me want to raise a pig in the back yard, but it sure made me want to be friends with someone who does and share in the bounty. 🙂

I think what resonated most with me is the spirit of a person who is determined to follow her own quirky way of shaping the world into what she wants it to be, regardless if it makes sense to those around her.  I see me in her, with my stupid indoor composter (which has basically died all together now — Boo!).

There is a rocky parking lot near my building in which a little ol’ lady has squatted, with a couple of raised beds of herbs and onions.    Before I had to contend with a stroller, I would always detour by there to see how the plants were doing.   I think there is a little Novella in quite a lot of us.

She’s having a tour of her farm at the end of the month.  I’d really like to go, but I don’t think I can swing a trip to Oakland with Max on my own.  (J. is in rehearsals for his new play.)  Too bad, because now she has cute little goats.

1 Comment

  1. Gretchen said,

    August 24, 2009 at 2:13 am

    I’ll have to put it on my list to read. How neat about that little ol’ lady – maybe you should try to join her!


Leave a Reply

