Imagining the Possibilities

I suppose when most people buy a house, the first things they think about are where the furniture is going to go, or unpacking boxes, or meeting the neighbors. 

I, however, can’t stop thinking about all the exciting opportunities with the outside space.  Where will the ‘legit’ compost pile go? Will I finally get some worms for vermicomposting?  Will it be too late in the season to plant anything edible?  How do I make a raised bed?  Where will I find untreated lumber, mulch and the right soil?  Will we get a BBQ grill this season?

The excitement is also tempered by fear.  What if the garden I have wanted for so long fails because I don’t know what I’m doing?  Will I feel like this whole ‘workin’ the land’ vision was just a pipe dream?

I’m also thinking about having my first garage sale to get rid of bulky crap.  The new house is in a perfect location with nice amount of street traffic for a garage sale.  But then, I’m paying to move crap only to hope to sell it for pennies, and then if it doesn’t sell I have to get rid of it somehow again!

2 Comments

  1. Gretchen said,

    September 6, 2009 at 7:27 am

    They also sell raised bed kits at eartheasy. I just have been planting in the ground and recently (this weekend!) started installing edging to keep out the grass. Not the most earth-friendly, but easy to remove and take with me since I’m only a renter. Oh, I’m so excited you have a little bit of land to call your own! Can’t wait to hear all about your adventures.

  2. jerseygirl77 said,

    September 6, 2009 at 7:02 pm

    Congrats on the new place! I know nothing about gardening! You’ll probably be a raging success at it as long as I don’t get anywhere near your plants!


Leave a Reply

