The Life Update

I haven’t been writing much lately because the schedule has been super tight. 

Our typical day feels like a wrestling tag team.  One entertains the baby (who is now standing on his own and falling on every hard surface imaginable) while the other does a household chore, is doing work, or is in rehearsals.  This last month has been so crazy because J. is in full swing rehearsal mode most nights of the week.  I’ve kicked my billing into higher gear because I feel like I have to be at the top to avoid being at risk — so, I’m doing about 40 hrs/month above the average.  And as if that wasn’t enough, we’re buying a house.

I feel like we’ve barely scratched the surface on the house front.  We had some inspections, and let’s just say nothing is easy.  I always thought escrow would just feel like a formality and a waiting game till you eventually step into the house.  I now realize that it’s important to maintain an emotional detachment during this time because you have to be willing to walk away.  So, escrow is a little like holding your breath.

The idea of “me time” is a total joke.  Every spare minute is spent billing if Max is asleep, and watching Max and doing a household chore if he’s awake.  The idea of getting a hair cut, pedicure, or just catching up on the phone with friends I haven’t seen in a long time is feeling really unreachable.

I’m guessing we have at least 3 months before life finds a balance.

1 Comment

  1. Mommy, Esq. said,

    September 11, 2009 at 6:02 am

    I’m sorry it’s been so tough. I some ways I’m jealous though – I have no work to bill so it’s looking like I’m in the bottom of the barrell and will probably get “cut” this November. I’m going to start thinking and planning for that eventuality.


Leave a Reply

