Figgy Goodness

My parents’ fig tree really delivered this year.  I took a sack full home and made 4 jars of fig jam after work.  I used pectin for the first time, but I may not have used enough because it doesn’t look all that thick in the jar.   I think it might be nice on top of a warmed brie on french bread.

I know what you’re thinking…who has time to make fig jam?  Well, I didn’t really.  I have a long memo to read, lending documents to go over, and hours of electronic doc review to do.  But sometimes you just have to do something that reconnects you with your spirit (and it would have killed me to toss these figs …).  I like that I didn’t even have to explain this to J.  He knew I needed some space tonight and he handled Max so that I could this. 

And while I was in the kitchen jammin’ (sorry, couldn’t resist), I also whipped up dinner — it’s efficient to cook two things at once.  I made lamb kefta-kabobs in wholewheat pitas with a cucumber salad.

And that rump roast from the other night … I used the leftovers to make shredded beef soft tacos last night.  All it took is adding some Mexican spices and a can of diced tomatoes to re-hydrate the beef.

Operation “eat down our food supply” is going fairly well.

2 Comments

  1. Gretchen said,

    September 16, 2009 at 5:33 am

    I am so jealous that you have more figs than you know what to do with (well, you knew what to do with them!). What a fun activity and I’m so glad you took some time to do something you love even if you didn’t ‘have the time’ 🙂

  2. Theresa said,

    September 17, 2009 at 4:34 pm

    It’s so important, I agree with G! Trying to remind myself of that as often as I can… also jealous of the figs – yum!


Leave a Reply

