HGTV Has Taken Over My Brain

Work has picked up dramatically.  I’ve been pulling long hours reviewing documents from my couch.  The lawyers out there know that this is the kind of work that demands TV background noise to keep from falling asleep on the keyboard.

My drug of choice since we made the offer on the house has been HGTV.  This network has basically two shows with ten different names.  The shows basically fall into two categories.  How to buy a house and how to fix a house (presumably to sell it).  I watch these thinking that they will get me up to speed on a process that is very foreign to me.  I have an absurd hope that they will give me that golden nugget of information that will make me feel like I have mastered this whole deal. 

However, I did get a nice idea last night.  I have a couch and a love seat that have good bones, but the cushions are a disaster from age, wear and tear, and Max’s spit up days.  I had previously resigned myself to keep the dated looking couches because there’s no use in buying something nice just to see your kid innocently wreck it while playing trampoline, or what have you.   I mean, how many time can you utter: “See, this is why we don’t have nice things!”?

My idea is to get two different slip covers for the couches.  I’m thinking contrasting colors.  These allow me to repurpose my couches, feel good about a “makeover” style in the new house (for limited $) and wash any new kid vomit that might show up down the road!

The trick is, that I am the first to admit that I have no style.  I worry that the house will still look like a “before” picture in one of these shows.  Oh, if only a hyper-peppy host and her efficient crew could pop out of the TV and show me the way.

Move-in day is just 3 weeks away…

3 Comments

  1. Gretchen said,

    September 27, 2009 at 3:34 am

    So you closed on the house? Did I miss that? Very exciting!!! I do enjoy those shows, but you’re right about them being pretty much the same shows. I might suggest you do somewhat color-coordinated slipcovers with fun pillows for contrast (with washable covers, of course). Full disclosure, though, is that I had a slipcover from Sure-Fit for my easy chair and ottoman and they never fit correctly and totally annoyed me. They never look like they do when in professional photo shoots! Check out the website for younghouselove (you can hire them to do room boards for you to help with decorating and they just have fun, easy ideas. Good luck!

  2. Mommy, Esq. said,

    September 27, 2009 at 4:15 am

    The problem with slipcovers is that if you don’t sew them to be the exact size of your couch you are forever rearranging them. I had some in the porch and I couldn’t take it and finally got rid of them this spring. Glad work is busy for you – not for me so the job worries continues…

  3. Theresa said,

    September 27, 2009 at 5:45 am

    I’ve found that the slipcovers at Target actually fit really well. Of course, they do not look professionally done (especially when I use them), but I like that there are two pieces (one for the cushions, one for the body of the couch – makes it look nicer than normal slipcovers where it usually looks like you threw a sheet over the whole thing and tucked it in). The other bonus to the Target slipcovers is that they are treated with Stainmaster, like carpets – so spills and spit-up etc doesn’t leave a mark.

    Congrats on the house!


Leave a Reply

