Home At Last

IMG_4530This picture was taken of Max as we introduced him to his new room.  He took it very well.  I’m trying to harness that joy for myself as I deal with incredible “what else could go wrong?” stresses of buying and maintaining  house.

Today’s drama is that the Internet installation (which was attempted but failed on Monday) that should have taken a few minutes, took 5 hours.  I couldn’t stay for the five hours, so I left my dad in charge as I headed out to a meeting at work.  So that means my work computer was not “installed” by the professional.  He said it would be straightforward and I would have no problem doing it myself.

Well. Here I am.  My installation on my work computer was unsuccessful.  I just can’t afford another night with no billing.  I am so stressed out.  Thankfully I got a hold of the technician before the end of his shift and he graciously agreed to stop by on his way home.  Am waiting for him now.  (That’s why I have the luxury of typing a post on my own computer, while my work computer sits there like a paperweight.)

What else have we dealt with this week?  Plumber guy. Furnace guy.  Shower door installation guy.  Discovering our shower has no place to hang a towel and no wall space to speak of.  Finding some half solutions at Bed, Bath & Beyond.  Researching what TV to buy.  Finding the cheap one we wanted after 3 store visits.  Thinking we were buying it.  Getting home to discover that they actually sold us a more expensive TV and charged us for it!  Returning it tomorrow.  Finding a bunch of junk of the previous owner and having to figure out how to haul it out of here.  Who leaves a mattress??? asshole.

Did I mention we don’t yet have a laundry machine?  Heading home to do laundry like a frickin’ college student is so not in my schedule right now.

I know my stess level is through the roof right now.  And I know Max deserves better.  But the list of things to do at home and at work is growing exponentially and I have no concept how it all will get done.

3 Comments

  1. Mommy, Esq. said,

    October 23, 2009 at 5:50 am

    I feel for you! We did a kitchen and bathroom remodel right after we moved in and didn’t have access to 3 rooms for months. But we didn’t have a kid at the time. Hang in there!

  2. Gretchen said,

    October 24, 2009 at 3:56 am

    Max looks happy! You’ll make it through somehow. You have a lot on your plate, but you also have a team of family and friends who you can call on when the going gets tough. I’ll be keeping fingers and toes crossed for you.

  3. Theresa said,

    October 24, 2009 at 4:35 am

    Hang in there – this is a stressful time, but you will make it through! And you have that cute face to look at when you need to smile. I will be thinking of you!


Leave a Reply

