And Then I Remembered

As I come up for air from all the household errands and catching up at work, I am continually reminding myself why we embarked on this adventure.  And this is why:

IMG_4546

So Max could eat dirt from our own yard.

We went to the farmer’s market in the next town over.   We had been there years earlier, but this was like a new birth!  To say we got carried away would be an understatement.  (let’s just say that the “frugality” tag would not apply). Some notable purchases:  Bison, french salami, kabanosi-type dry aged sausages, two artisan cheeses, olive oil, crenshaw melon, 4 types of peppers, and much more.  One thing I wanted to buy but held off till I research how to properly use them — duck eggs!

Tonight we ate ahi tuna in homemade wasabi mayo, with a dill cucumber salad.   I also used tonight’s “free” time to pre-make meatballs with beef and bison. (my commute is now 30 minutes, so that’s time I don’t really have to cook anymore).

 

Stella the cat is still pretty freaked out by the move.

Max crawls around the house squeeling with delight in each new discovery. 

I exhale and remember why.

2 Comments

  1. Mommy, Esq. said,

    October 26, 2009 at 5:11 am

    So sweet – more pictures please! I’ve been terrible because my kids won’t stay still – it was much easier when they just sat up and played and smiled at me. I’m now just getting busy at work and I’m already dreading it.

  2. Gretchen said,

    October 27, 2009 at 1:17 pm

    Big smile on my face. What a joy a good handful of dirt is. What great memories you are making in your new home!


Leave a Reply

