My Garden, Week 1

For those of you who have heard me bitch and moan for years about wanting my own plot of land to play out my “live off the land” fantasy, this week I took the first step.

First, I built the outside composter.  I need a new motor for the food scraps composter; so, we’ll see if I can overcome inertia, order it, install it, and give it a go.  I realized tonight, however, that I need a whole bunch of dirt/finished compost in order to make the chemical reaction work on the outside composter.  So, next weekend’s project is to get a crate full of compost from the city and make it happen.

Second, at the farmer’s market today I bought some rosemary and Arugala plants.  I planted them in planters that the previous owner had left behind, along with potting soil that stayed behind, too.  The next project is to build raised beds for more serious cultivation.  But again … project, inertia, winter coming, we’ll see what we can achieve in the coming weeks.

Third, I raked leaves from the front yard’s magnolia tree and put them in the composter along with kitchen scraps.

I am thankful for every minute I got to spend with the yard.  Max enjoyed watching me rake leaves for some reason.  Then I was able to do the planting while he was napping.  I still long for a more predictable schedule with him.  There’s no telling if he’ll be down for a monster 2 hour nap, or no nap at all, which makes allocating time for other stuff pretty tough.

1 Comment

  1. Gretchen said,

    November 2, 2009 at 10:40 am

    This is so exciting. Keep me updated!


Leave a Reply

